Any tales fans here?

• Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 Forte

Forte

• Members
  • 108 posts

Posted 26 October 2008 - 08:51 AM

I've been playing them since a few years ago, and recently I developed another fetish which could only be fed by emulation.

Strange intro aside, you will now tell me why Symphonia is your favorite.

#2 Linkmaster30000

Linkmaster30000

Your Hero, Even if You Don't Know it Yet

• Bohemian Mafia
  • 7,196 posts
  • 3DS:5370-0513-1062
  • NINID:Linkmaster30000
  • PSN:LM30K
  • XBox Live:Linkmaster30000

Posted 26 October 2008 - 02:41 PM

It's possible that we have another thread about this, but whatever.

I've played Symphonia and Abyss, along with a bit of Phantasia.

Abyss
My big beef with this game was that every character had some secret that they needed to hide from everybody, or something they didn't know that changed their life completely. And every time someone said "What's wrong?" or "What did you just say?" every character would say something like "Hm? Oh, nothing." I mean, you're traveling with these people, eating food made by them, and sleeping in the same vicinity. You're trusting these people with your very LIFE, and you can't tell them something? It's so stupid. Another problem I had was that you can get their best weapons about halfway through the game at the Colosseum. After that, unless you get the Nebilim weapons and go on a battling spree, you're good to go for the rest of the game. It also doesn't really explain the ending, which bothered me. The gameplay was great, though - very smooth. The plot was basically good, and the secrets were plentiful.

Symphonia
I like it better than Abyss in every way, from what I can remember. It's been a while. I liked the plot, the characters variations, how you could choose the person that falls in love with Lloyd, and the length. Everything was great, and it remains one of my favorite games to date.

Phantasia