Jump to content


Photo

GCN memory cards in Wii consoles


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 Albert Wesker

Albert Wesker
  • Members
  • -2,487 posts

Posted 27 April 2011 - 10:33 PM

Okay, I'm hoping to settle this once and for all and (hopefully) put my fears to rest.

The question: I've heard that GCN memory cards larger than the default 59 blocks, or third party cards, can corrupt in Wii systems. I've also heard reports for and against this. Can I safely use other cards in my Wii system?

I would think that any size official Nintendo card would be fine in the Wii, but Nintendo can be strange sometimes. I would much rather ask this than lose all the stuff on my big nintendo mem card (all my GCN games), even though I have a slight idea. Better safe than sorry.

#2 Frausky

Frausky

    Member

  • Members
  • 910 posts

Posted 27 April 2011 - 10:35 PM

Both of my memory cards are non-nintendo and I've been using them in my wii since 2006.

#3 Linkmaster30000

Linkmaster30000

    Your Hero, Even if You Don't Know it Yet

  • Bohemian Mafia
  • 7,196 posts
  • Location:Wherever I am
  • 3DS:5370-0513-1062
  • NINID:Linkmaster30000
  • PSN:LM30K
  • XBox Live:Linkmaster30000

Posted 27 April 2011 - 10:36 PM

I have one that's larger AND 3rd party, and I haven't had any problems.

#4 FISSURE

FISSURE

    Member

  • Members
  • 560 posts
  • PSN:fissure100
  • XBox Live:fissure100

Posted 27 April 2011 - 11:15 PM

Our 250 block or whatever Nintendo ones we have seem to be fine in our Wii/

#5 Ego

Ego

    Super-Psychic

  • Members
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location:Underneath your bed
  • 3DS:3652-1929-9711
  • Steam:hornheado
  • XBox Live:hornheado

Posted 27 April 2011 - 11:16 PM

Same deal, I have like 3 ones bigger than 59 blocks, by a lot, non-Nintendo, and I've had a Wii since release and use them all the time. I've NEVER had a problem with them. I suppose it's possible for it to corrupt it(idk the tech side of it) but I think the chance is so unlikely that it's okay to go with it.

#6 Albert Wesker

Albert Wesker
  • Members
  • -2,487 posts

Posted 27 April 2011 - 11:43 PM

This is very good to hear. It's so nice to actually get reliable people to answer, instead of random people on random forums I have no prior experience with.

#7 Hanz

Hanz

    Social Justice Cleric

  • Monster Coach
  • 9,264 posts
  • Location:NEW DONK CITY
  • 3DS:3007-8091-3997
  • NINID:HJWeasel
  • Steam:HJWeasel

Posted 28 April 2011 - 05:03 AM

Yup, never had a problem here.

#8 Valentine

Valentine

    Master of... Stuff.

  • Validating
  • PipPip
  • 1,277 posts
  • Location:Here
  • PSN:PM me
  • Steam:PM me
  • XBox Live:PM me

Posted 28 April 2011 - 08:17 AM

Redfield and I had a bad experience with a Mad Catz card. I guess it worked for awhile (it was his card), then started being a bitch. If it was left in the Wii, it wouldn't allow me to power on the Wii. It didn't corrupt anything else though.

Edited by Valentine, 28 April 2011 - 08:17 AM.


#9 Ego

Ego

    Super-Psychic

  • Members
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location:Underneath your bed
  • 3DS:3652-1929-9711
  • Steam:hornheado
  • XBox Live:hornheado

Posted 28 April 2011 - 11:54 AM

Actually, Valentine, I had the exact same experience with a Mad Catz card. I don't think in this case it's the memory card messing with the Wii as much as Mad Catz just building an incompatible card.

#10 Medic

Medic

    STANDING NEAR ZEE POINT DOES NOTHING!

  • Members
  • 219 posts
  • Location:Losing is verboten
  • Steam:Kabuto (gngrievous if you're searching will work too)

Posted 28 April 2011 - 03:06 PM

Both of mine are Mad Catz, though, so I don't think it applies to all memory cards. Maybe its just your individual ones, Cave.

#11 Albert Wesker

Albert Wesker
  • Members
  • -2,487 posts

Posted 28 April 2011 - 05:07 PM

Thank you everyone for putting your two cents in.
Now, I have another question. Is it possible to edit GCN memory card data like you can on the GCN on the Wii? My GCN is unhooked because it's kind of on the fritz.

#12 Ego

Ego

    Super-Psychic

  • Members
  • 1,257 posts
  • Location:Underneath your bed
  • 3DS:3652-1929-9711
  • Steam:hornheado
  • XBox Live:hornheado

Posted 28 April 2011 - 05:19 PM

Oh, I didn't mean all of them don't work, just that they're maybe more prone to not working.

Wesker, if you mean can you manage the games on 'em and stuff, you absolutely can. From the wii main menu, click the Wii button(bottom left), data management, save data, nintendo gamecube. That should have you in the right menu to see all that save data.
If you mean some other form of editing memory card data, I have no idea.

#13 Albert Wesker

Albert Wesker
  • Members
  • -2,487 posts

Posted 28 April 2011 - 05:22 PM

Okay, cool. I didn't know that, as I've never spent much time with my GCN memory cards in my Wii. Thanks.

Edited by Albert Wesker, 28 April 2011 - 05:22 PM.





0 user(s) are reading this topic

0 members, 0 guests, 0 anonymous users